Handmade Chocolates

Vegan Chocolates

Many of our chocolates are suitable for Vegans and to help with your selection we’ve created a separate Vegan Product category listed under our Shop menu. We’ve used guidelines from the Vegan society to inform our recommendations.

We hope you find this separate category useful when choosing chocolates suitable for Vegans from our range.

As we use cream and milk in many of our products there is a small risk of cross-contamination and therefore for allergy purposes we have to list milk traces on the ingredients label. However there is no intentional milk or animal products in any of the recipes listed in the Vegan category and we take all reasonable precautions to eliminate the risk of cross-contamination.

The Vegan society says on this issue regarding allergy labelling…

…companies should strive to minimise cross-contamination from animal substances used in non-vegan products as far as is reasonably practicable. For example, products can correctly say ‘may contain milk’.

The Crayfish Bay bars listed in our Vegan category are guaranteed dairy free – these are made on plantation in Grenada where only dark chocolate products are made and no dairy is used.

The guideline information below is from the Vegan Society website and lists their definitions regarding Animals and ingredients. For more information please refer to the Vegan Society website or feel free to contact us if you have questions on any of our Vegan chocolate products.

Animals

The Vegan Society understands the word ‘animal’ to refer to the entire animal kingdom, that is all vertebrates and all multicellular invertebrates. The word may be used either as a noun or an adjective and to refer to either a species or an individual animal, depending on context. Unless otherwise stated, it usually means non-human animals.

Animal ingredients

The manufacture and/or development of the product, and where applicable its ingredients, must not involve, or have involved, the use of any animal product, by-product or derivative.

Animal testing

The development and/or manufacture of the product, and where applicable its ingredients, must not involve, or have involved, testing of any sort on animals conducted at the initiative of the company or on its behalf, or by parties over whom the company has effective control.

Genetically Modified Organisms

The development and/or production of genetically modified organisms (GMO) must not have involved animal genes or animal-derived substances. Products put forward for registration which contain or may contain any GMOs must be labelled as such.

Kitchen and hygiene standards

Dishes that are to be labelled vegan must be prepared separately from non-vegan dishes. As a minimum surfaces and utensils must be thoroughly washed prior to being used for vegan cooking. We strongly recommend that a separate set of utensils be procured for this purpose. Be aware of the risk of cross-contamination from non-vegan sources in your kitchen, and take all reasonable practical steps to eliminate this.

Recommended